Half Marathon Training – Week 1

Last night I had a hard time sleeping.  There were things on my mind that kept me awake, but also – HALF MARATHON TRAINING.

So, I’ve decided to run a half.  It was a tough decision, actually.  I’ve already done a half and a marathon – why not just train for another marathon?  Last week, I went to bed convinced I was going to train for a marathon.  Luckily, I had come to my senses when I woke up.  My body was like, “WAIT A SECOND JENNY, let’s recap.”

-I had not been running with my groups for over a year
-I have not been consistently running anything over 3 or 4 miles for over a year
-I had been extremely burned out from running for over a year

Not really an ideal conditions for marathon training.

But I figured training for a half would be better for me.  It would quench my craving to return to running and social running groups.  And since the training program is six months long, it will also help me get back into long-distance running without putting too much stress on the body.

It was a decision I grappled with even up until this morning, but I’m confident that it was the best decision. I mean, a half is still 13.1 miles.  I can’t let the accomplishment of running a half marathon get skewed.

This morning I excitedly drove to the meeting area, just like I used to for marathon training. After announcements from an overly perky coach, we split up into our groups.  I’m in the yellow group, 9:30 – 9:45 min/mile pace.  It’s the same pace group I was in for marathon training, and I’m really happy in it.

I had brought my iPod with me for our inaugural two-mile run, but I didn’t even need it this morning.  I was chatting with one of my teammates and our coach.  The weather was pretty comfortable, in the high 70s, though a little humid.  One of my teammates moved from Wisconsin.  She freaked out when I told her I’m 29.  “You look 22!” she said.

We finished our run at a comfortable 19:50; since we were training to run the same pace as we would a longer run, we were told not to exhaust ourselves by running a faster pace.

Afterwards we stretched, and chatted more.

It feels so good to be back and running on the trails again!  It makes me so happy to be running again and training for something. Now I need to get busy and buy supplies for the months ahead, like Gu and sport beans.  I need to find my trusty Spibelt.  And I need to load my iPod with some good tunes to keep me going.  My first half was completed at a very comfortable, slow pace.  I really want to improve my PR and get as close to the 2 hour mark as possible.

I can’t wait.

6 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training – Week 1

  1. Sounds like so much fun, I’ve seen that they have running groups where we live, and that’s good 🙂 Where I used to live they had nothing he he! To join a running group is something I really want to do in the future 🙂 Have fun!

  2. I envy you. I ran, like, 3 1/4 miles this morning. It took me 46 minutes AND I thought I was going to die at one point. In fact, I couldn’t even hang on for another 30 seconds to finish my run-this-song song.

    So, kudos. I don’t think I’ll ever run anything more than a 5K. MAYBE a 10K, but I really doubt that. BUT yay for being excited about something healthy! I get pretty stoked about yoga classes, so I understand the excitement, haha.

      • It’s not always easy to get out of bed and do it. Even telling myself how good I’ll feel doesn’t help.

        But, when I’m done I’m sore and stretched and more loosey goosey than before. THEN it’s worth it.

        I find it helps me to cuss when I fall out of balance. Instead of holding in my frustrations. I’m the cussing yogini, lol. I’m sure it’s very un-yoga-like to cuss.

Leave a Reply

