Weekend Retrospective – Being Nerdy Instead of Watching Football

On Saturday, there was a huge game on campus.  Last year, my college team had beaten the #1 team.  This year, they were scheduled for a rematch at my alma mater.

I didn’t go.  I really don’t care about football.  I mean, I’ve attended football games as an undergrad, but watching a football game is generally not something I’ll set aside time for.

The town was neerily empty, which I didn’t mind. I’ve been in severe “Get Off My Lawn” mode every weekend that I visit Boyfriend, because the town is teeming with undergrads who don’t know how to drive, and out-of-towners who are lost and drive 10 miles below the speed limit.

I went to Barnes and Noble during the game, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen it so empty.  The coffee shop, which is usually full of students studying, was deserted.  I am still searching for the new edition of Cross Stitcher magazine (I want the owl that comes with it!)  I was searching through the racks (no overstock drawers at this Barnes and Noble, unfortunately) when a woman, also browsing the crafty magazines, looked at me. “You don’t care about football, either,” she said.  I laughed and said, “Nope.”

This weekend I also unlocked a nerd achievement – I tried Dungeons and Dragons for the first time. I never thought I would play and I wasn’t even sure if I would enjoy it, but it was actually a lot of fun.  My character is an Eladrin cleric named Elmendorf.  Elmendorf is actually a small town right outside of San Antonio and my brother and I used to say “ELMENDORF!” in Lord of the Rings voices every time we drove by it.  (He said he was jealous that he didn’t think of that name for his character first).  Boyfriend was dungeon master, even though he had never played before.  But he had done a lot of research before the game and did a great job.  We played with some coworkers of his from his lab.  I’m looking forward to the next game.

I also nearly finished my cross-stitch project for Mandy (which I will show in another post).

Oh, and got really depressed watching the new Breaking Bad episode.

It’s only Tuesday but I already feel like I need another weekend tomorrow…is that bad?

Leave a Reply

