Being Crafty – Cross-Stitching

So, I like crafting.  But historically, I’m terrible about starting projects and then never finishing them.  This year, I’ve decided to finish a project if I start it.  That’s how I finished three puzzles, for instance,  which I’ll cover in a future post. Not that anyone cares.  “OOO, A PUZZLE!  PLEASE BLOG MORE ABOUT YOUR THRILLING LIFE, JENNY!”

Anyway, I’ve decided to finish a cross-stitch project that I’ve been meaning to finish for an entire year.  This is for my cousin Amanda:

 

He's not perfect...but you can tell it's a robin, right?

He’s not perfect…but you can tell it’s a robin, right?

 

This kit came in the October 2012 issue of Cross Stitcher magazine.  I love this magazine! Each magazine always comes with a free stitching kit.  They have beautiful designs in there…not the gaudy designs that are sometimes associated with cross-stitching, but really cool designs that I wouldn’t be embarrassed to display in my home, lest people think I’m four decades older than I actually am.

I started this little guy last year and then put him away in my craft drawer, neglected.  But this summer, I was determined to finish the project, especially since I had promised Mandy a homemade gift, um, a year ago.  The directions in the magazine suggested that this project would take four hours.  Four hours, my ass.  This project got me through Seasons 3 and 4 of Breaking Bad.

While I definitely see errors in my work, overall I’m happy with the finished product and proud that I’ve actually completed the project.  I can’t wait to send it to Mandy.

My next project will be this:

Zombie Cross Stitch

So several years ago, I saw this at Barnes and Noble and said, “Zombies and cross-stitch?  AWESOME.”  It was totally an impulse buy.  I’m not even into zombies.  At all.  So naturally, this kit has been sitting in my craft drawer for three years.  I am tired of it taking up space, so I opened the kit and looked at the designs.  The designs are not terribly exciting, but they are amusing and simple enough.  There’s enough material for three projects and with Halloween around the corner, I thought it would be a fun gift for my favorite dudes, who are actually into zombies.

So, that’s one of the things I do with my free time.  I’m clearly practicing for retirement, but I LIKE IT, OKAY?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Being Crafty – Cross-Stitching

  1. That pattern looks great! I like how you made it and how the result came out. Very nice. I’m not much of a cross stitcher, but I like doing things with my hands. I draw a lot, that’s really where my passion is; however I have started to try and pick up crocheting (courtesy of my girlfriend) and might potentially dabble in needle point. I think that’s what it’s called. I’m pretty sure that’s what the woman in the bookstore called it. Anyway I like it. You’ve lit a fire under me to try and continue learning to crochet even though I’m not picking up as quickly as I would like it to. So thank you 🙂

    • Aw thanks! I’m glad you liked it. I think it’s awesome that you have started crocheting. I only know one stitch, haha. But just one stitch can get you a long way! I’m happy to inspire new projects. 🙂 I’ll post some more of what I’m working on, then!

Leave a Reply

