A Crafty Update

Hi everyone!

Since I have the day off, I’m updating this blog because WHY NOT.

I’ve been keeping pretty busy craft-wise, mainly with cross-stitching.  I realized after my last project that I’ve been STITCHING INCORRECTLY THIS ENTIRE TIME.  Usually with cross-stitching, you have to stitch with two strands, right?  So I would thread the needle all the way through with the two strands, like this:

Incorrect Way

Essentially, this made four strands.  That’s why my stitches looked really thick and gross.  You’re supposed to thread the needle like this instead:

Correct Way

Once I had this epiphany, my stitches started looking so much better, as you can see from the pictures.  These owls are my current project and should be finished this weekend.  Also, I won’t run out of thread so quickly. I’m glad I realized my mistakes now before starting more ambitious projects.

So now, let’s review all the projects I completed while stitching incorrectly:

Derpy Bunny

I made this for a Christmas card that I gave to Boyfriend’s parents.  The ears are a little messed up and derpy, and I almost didn’t want to give it to them. But Boyfriend said it looked cute and that no one would notice the ears.

Cute little deer

This deer was for a Christmas card that I gave to my close friend’s mom.  She always has us over for after-Thanksgiving festivities.  She was unable to this year, so had us over a couple of days before Christmas instead.  It was so much fun, and I always feel like family in her home.

Peaceful Dove

This was supposed to be for Boyfriend’s grandmother, but it was just way too messed up to give away. It looks okay from this picture, as it’s been filtered through Instagram.  But I ran out of colors, so the top and bottom colors really do not match. And I used a strip of green right above the heart instead of blue, I guess because I had temporary color blindness and could not tell the threads I was working with clearly were not blue. It was right at the end of this project that I had my epiphany that I’d been stitching incorrectly.  I left this at home instead for my parents.

I’ve also been crocheting. I haven’t worked on it during the break, but will continue with the project this month:

Apollo and yarn

That’s what I’ve been up to the past month.  This month, I’d like to finish a couple more cross-stitching projects and continue organizing my apartment. I had a massive organization effort right before I left for vacation, which was great.  I’d like to keep the apartment looking as organized as possible.

4 thoughts on “A Crafty Update

  1. That rabbit is so, so cute! 🙂 I crocheted a blanket last year, and discovered lately I have a rather big box of yarn.. but just a little of every color 😉 So I guess I’ll have to come up with an idea for that yarn 🙂

Leave a Reply

