Today I learned a very frustrating lesson about the internet.

I had a domain name for my old blog that I considered semi-unique. I let the domain name expire on December 31. I wasn’t updating the site anymore and it just seemed appropriate.

One of my online friends sent me a message this morning saying that my site was being taken to someone else’s.

Huh?

Sure enough, someone had bought my old domain name and it’s now being redirected to her dumb blog.

She can’t even spell.  I don’t want people thinking that her posts are mine.

It shouldn’t bother me as much as it does.  It you google that name, most of my stuff – Soundcloud, Twitter, Goodreads – pops up.  I clearly had that name first.  But since I didn’t renew the registration, it’s now someone else’s. And that’s my fault.

Am I frustrated that this person couldn’t be creative enough to come up with her own name and had to take mine to redirect to hers?  Yes. But at the same time, it’s her right to do so.

I registered my old blog with the same name, just with a “the” in front of it. I feel incredibly childish saying this, but I was first.

It’s a good lesson about the internet. Nothing is ever yours.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

