Submittable

I submitted my poems for publication for the Texas Poetry Calendar on the 19th.

I used to be very superstitious and never discuss things I wanted, because if I said out loud that I wanted them, THE UNIVERSE WOULDN’T LET IT HAPPEN. But the quality of my poems is what is being considered, not whether or not I told the two people who read this blog that I want to be published.

What was cool about the submission process is you upload the file with program called “Submittable.” Then you can see the status of the editorial board’s review – if it’s been accepted, declined, or in progress. Mine has been “in progress” for the past several weeks, which means that I check Submittable multiple times a day. It’s dumb. There’s no reason for me to. I’m sure I’ll get an email telling me whether or not the poems have been accepted or declined, which means there is no point in checking Submittable. But I still do.

I submitted three poems that I’d written for a graduate poetry course. They had decent feedback from my professor so I figured those had the best chance. I am not going to get my hopes up. For the past two years, I’ve found myself at the book store where the ceremonies for the publication is held, and I’ve heard the poems that are accepted. I don’t think mine really stand a chance, but you never know until you try, right?

Leave a Reply

