I’m Sorry!

So I spent some time crafting a post, and WordPress lost it.  And the draft wasn’t saved in my drafts folder.

THANKS WORDPRESS.

Anyway, I can’t believe it’s been nearly two months since I have posted. I’ve been keeping pretty busy this summer.  Here’s a quick update on what I’ve been up to.

1.  Field Work – The field work in June went as well as could be expected.  It was very humid and since it rained on the first day, we worked long hours (12-14 hour plus).  I was so relieved and happy to be done at the end of the week. Also, I’m not going to give myself a hard time about dreading driving down that hill anymore.  There genuinely isn’t a lot of pivot room so I am kind of forced to drive down the hill more parallel to it than perpendicular; I genuinely felt like my truck was going to tip over.

2.  Work – Work has been keeping me very busy. It’s been stressful at times, but I like what I do and have learned a lot.  It could be a lot worse.

3.  Down Time – In my downtime, I’ve been spending a lot of time reading and crafting.  Last month, Boyfriend and I took a day trip to see some friends. We spent all day relaxing near a swimming hole. I had never seen anything so pristine and beautiful!  I also faced a lifelong fear of deep water by swimming across it (it was about 40 – 60 feet deep).  I didn’t have the energy or gumption to swim back (I kept near the shore this time around), but it felt good to face my fears head-on.

Swimming hole

4.  (Briefly) Meeting Famous People – Last month, Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton came to my city for a book signing.  My coworker and I very eagerly stood in line for two hours; the line outside the bookstore encompassed several blocks!

Once we made it inside the bookstore, we were frisked and led upstairs to the signing room. There were Secret Service EVERYWHERE in the signing room, which was very intimating.  We’d been told we were not going to be allowed to take pictures, but a bookstore employee allowed us to take a picture from the back of the signing room line, as long as we kept the line moving.

IMAG0291

Once we got to the front of the line, we were able to shake Mrs. Clinton’s hand and exchange a few words, and receive a copy of our signed book. Mrs. Clinton was very gracious and I told her it was an honor to meet her (she has a great handshake, of course).  It was a very surreal moment – it’s like when you eagerly anticipated graduating, and the walk across the stage was over in ten seconds.

5. Turning 30!  I turned 30 this month.  I was mostly ready for it, besides a couple of “Oh God, what have I done with my life?!” moments. It didn’t really hit until I blew out the candles on my cake.

IMAG0333

Overall, it was a great day spent with friends and family.  I look forward to this decade with optimism; age is just a number, right? I was ready to leave my 20s behind, anyway.  For my birthday, Boyfriend got me these really incredible personal gifts, and my parents got me birthday money that I promptly put into savings. Haha, just kidding, I put it towards the Wii U that I bought with Boyfriend.

6. Half Marathon Training – I started training this month.  I can’t say I’m excited to wake up early on Saturday mornings again, but it feels wonderful to be out there once I start running. I’m pretty excited about training season this year.

Well, that’s about it.  In terms of the blog, I am going to start focusing more on what inspires me creatively, which is crafting right now. I’ve tried to blog “old school,” where I just ramble about whatever happened in my day or vent, but it just doesn’t appeal to me anymore; I have a good network of people I can vent to now, whereas back then, I didn’t.  I’ll still update when there’s something “noteworthy” going on (take with a grain of salt, since I’m pretty settled into my grandma routine), but otherwise want to start focusing this blog on creative pursuits that I am passionate about. I hope you still stick around! I promise to try and make it fun.

I’ll talk to you all soon. Until then, have a great week!

 

3 thoughts on “I’m Sorry!

  1. Happy belated birthday! lol at your savings fake out… but it’d be funnier with some assurance that you are saving a little somethin’ for the future from each paycheck, right?

    I almost lost a blog post by composing it in two browsers last night. The schedule function didn’t publish this morning as expected and when I went back to check it only showed a version from 19 hours prior. After switching back to the og browser I was able to recover it. I really need to stop multi-tasking in multiple browsers.

    That’s awesome that you swam in that depth. W2g!

    I think whatever you choose to blog about is fine, if it keeps you blogging. I’ve gone through my settings and now I’m subscribed your posts daily rather than a weekly summary. I look forward to the next post!

    • Aw thank you! Haha yes, I am pretty diligent about saving my money. There is one account that I just don’t touch, ever. It’s my uber-emergency account, only to be withdrawn in times of dire need!

      Thank you! I look forward to yours too 🙂

Leave a Reply

