Fall Update

Hello everyone!

It’s been nearly two months since I’ve blogged.  I’ve been busy, but had also been feeling uninspired.  September had been full of frustrations and I just didn’t have a lot of energy to devote to my creative passions.  But October has been kinder to me; I’ve been feeling better lately and working on my crafts again.

I’ve been trying to make the most of my surroundings to satisfy this enormous wanderlust I’ve been feeling lately.  Some trips are definitely planned for the future, but for now, why not enjoy what is in my backyard?  We’ve been taking some bike rides, and enjoyed the Oddball Comedy Fest and ACL.  Fall is my favorite time of year and I have been relishing the coziness and onset of boot weather, even though it’s still in the 80s here in Texas.

We went to the Renaissance Festival yesterday. It was my first time ever attending, and I really enjoyed it. I had to get used to everyone speaking in British accents and saying the price in “pounds” instead of “dollars” (my nerdy brain immediately thought, “Do I have to make the conversion?”)  Boyfriend and I walked around and bought lots of trinkets (I have a weakness for pretty rocks and bird-related items, and bought multitudes of both).  We went to a petting zoo, which I think may have been one of my favorite parts of the festival.  I am pretty sure we were the only adults in the petting zoo without small children.

1959417_10105557062244594_2030374228003187688_n

Is it weird that I really want a goat?  I heard that they are total jerks but I really want one anyway.

I just got back from a groundwater sampling trip Friday, so I have spent today being completely lazy – reading, crafting, napping, and eating Starburst candy corn.  I read through Lena Dunham’s new book this weekend and really enjoyed it.  I am really looking forward to Amy Poehler’s new book next.  Boyfriend and I also watched the first episode of Sonic Highways, which fills me with hope that the Foos will play a show in Austin whenever that episode premieres.  The Chicago show apparently sold out in minutes, though, so I’m a little worried.  I missed out on an opportunity to see Dave Grohl last year at SXSW, and if I miss out on another chance, I will be sad.  SAD, I TELL YOU.  I haven’t been to a Foos show since 2011 and I have dreams about going to one and it’s pretty embarrassing, but whatever.

I’ve been pretty unfocused with my projects, but have been working through Marion Mandel’s The New Crotchet, with hilariously disastrous results that I will describe in a future post.  I’m also trying to learn how to knit and that is enormously difficult for me.  I even bought one of those small children’s kits and I can’t follow the directions there.  THERE IS NO HOPE FOR ME.

Alright, I will bid you adieu.  Until next time! I promise sooner than two months from now.

One thought on “Fall Update

  1. My calendar have been full too, I can’t understand why it’s always like that in the fall. But it feels like it’ll calm down soon. Last year (or if it was the year before) Erik and I went to a zoo, and it was the same thing, haha! It was a lot of children, their parents and us 😉

Leave a Reply

