The First Update of 2015

HI GUYS.

IT’S BEEN A LONG TIME SINCE I MADE A POST! (You’re supposed to read that to the tune of Led Zeppelin’s “Rock and Roll.”)

(Am I trying too hard?)

(Sorry).

The last time I blogged, it was…December?  December was a great month. It was, daresay, the best month of the entire year.  Let’s see.  Boyfriend and I went to a show in San Antonio where we were able to meet Devin Townsend and Tobin Abasi (guitarist from Animals as Leaders).  They were really nice.  Boyfriend is the mega fan but I still had fun.  Then several days after that, I had my half marathon.  I ran it maybe 45 seconds slower than the half I ran in February, but it was still a lot of fun.  Then the Friday following my half, Boyfriend and I went to see the Black Keys and St. Vincent.  Not going to lie, I was there for St. Vincent, who was AMAZING.

Then Christmas happened, where I was thoroughly spoiled by all my loved ones. I think my favorite gift was from my brother:

10881521_10105848370605304_7756088838880776019_n

This tape is Dave Grohl’s solo project that he completed before he joined Nirvana.  My brother was afraid I wouldn’t recognize it when I opened it, but my reaction was “OMG OMG WHAT!?” the minute I opened it.  I still can’t believe I own it.

Boyfriend and I took a wonderful trip to celebrate our third anniverary.  We went to museums in Houston, where we were able to pet sharks and see Monet, Picasso, and Dali paintings up close; to Galveston, where we were able to PET PENGUINS; and NASA.  NASA was so crowded that we weren’t able to do much.

But back to the penguins.  We took a behind the scenes tour of the penguin exhibit, so we were able to see how their food is prepared and where they live.  At the end, the penguin participated in an “enrichment activity” (I am so tickled by that phrase) that involved the penguin stepping in paint and walking over canvas.  Our penguin was named Mo and she was the cutest thing ever.  See for yourself:

I totally bought a Mo original for $10, and it is now hanging on my wall.

As you can imagine, I was not ready to return to work/being an adult.  January was a little bit stressful.  The Site That Will Not Die returned with a vengeance.  I think of that site as a noxious weed; just when you think you’ve exterminated it, it grows stronger with the strength of your tears. I wish I could tell you how awful that site is but I like having a job and not being fired.

Then field work has been postponed twice already.  I was so ready to go out and do it, but I’m glad that we didn’t go; it was so muddy that I would have missed my 21-mile training run, for sure.  Two coworkers are going out next week in my place so I can rest up for the marathon, and I feel SO GUILTY ABOUT IT.  It will be pretty muddy and they will be doing a lot of walking. I’ve been to this site over 20 times now and haven’t missed a groundwater sampling event since 2011.  So I feel like an overprotective mom with this site. My coworkers are awesome and I know the site is in good hands. I just feel so much ownership of the site, for better or for worse, that it feels almost wrong not going.  But it will be nice resting up for the marathon.  It will be even nicer not having to go out afterward, since I will be waddling for probably about a week.

I can’t believe the marathon is ten days away. I’m excited. I’m terrified.  I’m tired. I’ve been training since July and it’s easy for me to go into freak out mode (did I train hard enough? Am I going to do well?) I entered into my first marathon with a happy haze of naivete’.  I’ve obviously never given birth but I liken it to that…you don’t really know what you’re getting yourself into until you actually do it.  So as excited as I am for the marathon, I’m also like, “Oh yeah. Miles 17-24 are probably really, really going to suck.”  I ordered a new Foo Fighters shirt and “Bridge Burning” is pretty much my soundtrack for my runs now since I’m getting myself hyped up for it, and just thinking about it now, honestly, is making my heart race with excitement.  I can’t wait.  But I’m so scared.

I think after this race, I’m going to rest with the marathons for a bit.  I find that I enjoy training for half marathons better.  I can still run the distance, which I genuinely enjoy, without killing my body.  Marathon training is tough, and I’m not even running as much as I should (I’m running three times a week). I’m doing well enough on the long runs so I think that the amount I’m running is perfectly okay, and my coach even said that she’s trained for several marathons with that schedule.  Muscles hurt more than they used to though, and my right shin just starts hurting on and off throughout the day now. I’m looking forward to taking a nice, long rest after this marathon, and maybe train for another half during the second half of the year.

We’ll see, we’ll see.

I’ve been keeping busy on the creative front and will have to dedicate an entire post to my efforts.  I’m pretty excited about the year. I have some neat personal projects in the works, and I have some travel opportunities to look forward to (one that may or may not involve watching Dave Grohl play music or two or three hours…) 🙂  I’ve been getting closer to a group of coworkers, which has been really cathartic, especially regarding the Site That Cannot Be Named.

I will be better about updating this blog. Yes.

Leave a Reply

