Hi guys.

Can we just briefly acknowledge that January always sucks?

Cool?

Okay, so how have you all been doing?  Not too bad over here, I have to say.  Work has been making me this angsty moody creature but other than that, things have been pretty good.  It is February, so already that’s an improvement (did I say how much I hate January already?)

So far this new year I’ve learned how to knit.  Well, “learned.”  I only know one stitch but it makes me so excited.  I really am a craft dork and I’m sorry instagram followers who see either pictures of my dog or my various crafty works in progress.  I’m working on that this morning. I should be, you know, cleaning the house, or preparing for a run, or doing a little bit of work to stay caught up, but no. I want to plant my butt on the couch and knit and listen to music.

This is what weekends are for, yes?

I’ve been inspired to do more music lately, both from really motivating conversations with a friend and practicing for a set tonight at my friend’s party.  It’s one last hurrah at his house before he moves into a different place.  I’ve had a lot of good times at that house so it’ll be a nostalgic event for sure.  I tried learning the drum part to “Don’t Stop Believin'” (oh yes, that song is on the set list) last night and it was a little more complicated than I thought. I don’t think it’s technically challenging, but my brain was just like, “There’s no time. THERE’S NO TIME.” So I don’t know what we’ll do with that song.  It sounds like the rest of us are in the same boat practice-wise (or lack thereof), so maybe the entire show will be interpretive art.  We’ll see.  Boyfriend, of course, learned his parts already (to be fair, we only found out about the set list on Wednesday).

I will maybe be singing Taylor Swift.  It depends how inebriated I am.

Dang guys can I say I’m still bummed about David Bowie?

That last high note at the end – chills.

I just realized that this was a very click-baity sentence I wrote, but I posted the “Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (Reprise)” trio from his Diamond Dogs album.  It’s one of my favorite songs of his because his voice is so amazing in it, and I guess in the four months since I’ve logged into this thing, I’ve forgotten how to post proper youtube videos? Idk.

I’m glad we got that out of the way.

I guess that’s it for now?  STAY TUNED.

3 thoughts on “

  1. I swear I JUST stalked your blog yesterday to see if I’d somehow missed an update…so I’m thrilled to see a new one today! Sorry to hear work has been sucky, but you’ve been well apart from that so that’s good! Let us know what song you eventually sang at the party. I gave up and embraced Taylor Swift last year – no shame!

    • Awww thanks for checking on my blog! I need to get caught up on blogs, it has been months since I logged in! We ended up singing “Trouble.” I sounded terrible but it was fun :p

      Hey, so I just got invited to this new blog called blogcrazy. It was created by ex-Voxers and there’s a lot of the old community feel in there (they’ve got the “this is good” tag, “QotD”, neighborhoods, etc). If you’re interested, I can send you an invite! I am loving it so far.

      • Does that mean you’re blogging over there instead of here? I think I’ve settled into WP but it does feel a bit lonely here sometimes. Sure, please send me an invite. I’ll FB you my email add. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

